CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

No Need to Rush Into Iranian Conflict

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The recent run-up in prices at the gas pump is in part tied to increased concerns about another war in the Middle East — this time with Iran.

In some respects, the practical implications of such foreign policy and national security concerns resonate in Tampa just as they do in Washington, D.C. or New York.

The latest diplomatic talks with Iran on its nuclear program are aimed at preventing a military conflict. These talks are not likely to produce immediate breakthroughs. But they are an important part of an overall strategy that has strengthened our nation’s position, isolated Iran, and built an international consensus for dealing with Iran’s nuclear program. And make no mistake, this strategy is delivering results.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Tampa Bay Online.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org