CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

U.S. Should Discourage Israel From Striking Iran

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The United States should discourage Israel’s leaders from attacking Iran at this time. President Obama’s speech this weekend at the annual conference of the American Israel Public Affairs Committee set the right tone and sent the right message.

Under Obama, America is leading aggressive global efforts to take the threat Iran poses seriously, and this initiative has isolated Iran. As President Obama said, the "loose talk of war" only helps Iran by driving up the price of oil—which in turn gives Iran more money to fund its nuclear program.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in U.S. News and World Report.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org