CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

A Syrian Intervention Need Not Be Military Focused

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The United States has already intervened in Syria over the past year, and it should continue to do so with a focus on diplomacy aimed at getting other countries to pull their weight and exert their influence to stop the violence in Syria.

The last thing the United States needs to do is get directly involved in another Middle East war—we need only think back to the strategic disaster that the 2003-2011 Iraq war was for the United States. Or we can recall the Reagan administration’s decision to send U.S. forces to Lebanon in 1982—an engagement which ended shortly after the 1983 bombing of the U.S. Marine barracks, resulting in the highest death toll in a single day for the U.S. military since the end of the Vietnam War. The United States needs to use its unrivaled military might judiciously.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in U.S. News and World Report.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org