CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Economic Recovery Is Still Threatened

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The U.S. economy picked up speed in the last quarter of 2011, but it is still hung over from the 2000s’ real-estate-bubble-driven economy, according to data released today by the Bureau of Economic Analysis. With our economic recovery still facing numerous risks, policy makers should continue soon-to-expire payroll tax cuts and unemployment insurance benefits to sustain growth momentum.

Read more here.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in MarketWatch.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org