CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Strengthening Families and Communities

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

In recent years policymakers have engaged in a national dialogue on the value of marriage. We’ve also debated how to equalize low-income families’ access to parenting supports such as child care and flexible work schedules. And we have recognized the importance of extended family members and local communities in strengthening families. Tying all these strings together is a child-centered approach that focuses less on the structure of a family and more on the kinds of programs that will assist all types of family units where they live, and help them advance toward economic stability.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Half in Ten.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org