CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Iraq Failed U.S. Troops

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

As the U.S. military mission in Iraq ended, it was understandable that the commander in chief, President Barack Obama, and the deputy commander, Defense Secretary Leon Panetta, would tell the troops that their sacrifices were not in vain. While that may make some members of the military feel better in the short term about having seen about 4,500 of their colleagues killed and another 32,000 wounded, it ignores the reality of the war and makes it more likely that those who follow in their footsteps will suffer the same consequences. The military and the country would be better off in the long run if Obama and Panetta had given the following speech:

Read this article here.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Politico.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org