CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Europe’s Last Chance to Get it Right

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

As Europe’s leaders gather this week to tackle its economic woes, it is useful to take a step back and remember how and why Europe got here.

Even as Nazi bombs rained down on London in 1940, French economist and war munitions man Jean Monnet was planning for the integration of Germany into a united Europe. This was no flight of fancy or act of forgiveness by the man widely credited as the architect of Europe. It was a pragmatist’s assessment of how to make sure that after this war ended, a similar catastrophe would be unthinkable in Europe ever again.

Monnet’s success – and Europe’s success – has been so great, that we take the peace it created for granted today.

Read more here.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in CNBC Guest Blog.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org