CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Path to 270

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The first votes in the 2012 election are just weeks away from being cast, and the horse race is fully underway. This far out, it’s anyone’s guess who the GOP nominee will be. But one thing is certain: The nominee and President Barack Obama will face a different electorate than 2008.

The obvious difference is the economy. While there’s been slow but steady improvement, the economy has not recovered from the cliff it fell off in late 2008. But perhaps just as important is the demographic shift occurring in key states across the country.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Huffington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org