CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Less Than $26 Billion? Don’t Bother.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Everyone—conservative and liberal—agrees that $2.6 trillion a year is too much to spend on health care, and that we have to cut costs. But they don’t agree on who is to blame or what is to be done.

Everett Dirksen, the Republican senator from Illinois, reportedly said, “a billion here, a billion there, and pretty soon you’re talking about real money.” But health care spending in the United States typically increases by about $100 billion per year. Cutting a billion here or there from something that large is undetectable. In health care, you have to be talking about tens of billions of dollars before you are talking about real money. A useful threshold for savings is 1 percent of costs, which comes to $26 billion a year. Anything less is simply not meaningful.

Where can you find that kind of money? Conservatives mostly point to frivolous lawsuits that encourage doctors to order unnecessary tests and procedures, and extremely expensive patients like premature infants. Liberals target drug companies and for-profit insurers. Although each of these cost-saving targets has some merit, malpractice reform and cutting back on drug and insurance company profits would be insufficient and a distraction from the real efforts necessary to control costs.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The New York Times.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org