CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Aux Armes, Citoyens!

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Last night, Le Parti Socialiste (French Socialist Party) inaugurated its first-ever presidential primary. To be run over two rounds, the conclusion will take place next Sunday, when both party members and citizensprepared to sign a declaration supporting values of the leftwill choose between the centrist François Hollande (who won last night’s first round with 39 percent of the vote) and the more traditionalist Martine Aubry (who obtained 31 percent). While it is still unclear who the Socialists will elect to face French President Nicolas Sarkozy next spring, what is beyond doubt now is that there are already two clear winnersbeyond Monsieur Hollande and Madame Aubry.

Read more here.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Huffington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org