CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Dial “J” for Jobs: Why Antitrust Concerns Should Not Impede the AT&T/T-Mobile Alliance

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The Department of Justice suit against AT&T/T-Mobile seems contrary to the goals of the administration.  Challenging a deal which promises to save thousands of American jobs, and has the potential to create new jobs, will undermine the President’s renewed focus on job creation.   Over 9.2 percent of Americans remain unemployed and restoring economic growth is the nation’s most critical priority.
 
Our antitrust laws play a small but important role in helping to spur employment.  Sound antitrust enforcement can spur economic growth by eliminating unnecessary barriers to entry, or by protecting rivalry.  When antitrust enforcement is used prudently, the benefits of greater competition not only lead to lower prices and output, but hopefully greater job growth.  However, the DOJ’s suit has the possibility to prevent hope for job growth.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Hill.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org