CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

A Moral Crossroads: What’s Really at Stake in the Budget Debate

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

In Washington these days, political posturing and chatter around budget cuts have reached a deafening roar. As we draw closer to August 2, the day by which the federal government must raise the debt ceiling or face default, policymakers on both sides of the aisle, the Administration, and party leadership will continue to jockey for the measures they’d like included in or excluded from a final deficit reduction package that will likely accompany a vote to raise the debt ceiling. On the chopping block for massive cuts are programs supporting low- to moderate-income families, like early education programs for at-risk children, nutrition assistance for pregnant moms and infants, and job training to name a few.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Catholics in Alliance.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org