CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Rethinking U.S. Aid to Middle East

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Protesters, particularly young people, continue to demand political reform across the Middle East and North Africa. As they press for their rights and dignity, the United States needs to step up and support calls for change. But the 11th hour deal that Democrats and Republicans recently cut to avoid a government shutdown may squander this opportunity.

That bipartisan agreement clipped more than $8 billion from the international affairs budget as Washington tries to respond to the rapidly changing events throughout this strategic region – even though this account actually totals less than 1 percent of all federal spending.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Politico.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org