CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Leave Iraq on Time, with Dignity

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Like jilted lovers, the US military and many of those who got us into the senseless invasion of Iraq have been pressing the Iraqi government to change its mind about removing all US troops by the December 2011 deadline. Over the last two weeks, both the secretary of defense and the chairman of the joint chiefs of staff have told Iraqi Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki that time is running short for him to decide whether to ask the United States to stay. A senior US military official said that keeping US forces in the country would be “best for Iraq.’’

However, it is not in the best interests of either Iraq or the United States for American troops to remain after the deadline, which was agreed to by President George W. Bush and Maliki in the 2008 Status of Forces Agreement.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Boston Globe.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org