CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Failure as the Trump Card

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

In November 2008, facing dwindling foreign currency reserves and the looming prospect of default, the fledgling civilian government of Pakistan entered into what was to become an $11.3 billion standby loan agreement with the International Monetary Fund (IMF). That infusion of funds stabilised the economy over the short term, but over the course of past six to nine months, the agreement has effectively ground to a halt.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Pragati.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org