CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The FTC vs. Lake Wobegon

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

This is the simple story of when the Federal Trade Commission decided to focus its massive enforcement resources on a small cooperative of hospitals and physician clinics in rural southwestern Minnesota.

Best known as the home to Lake Wobegon, where all the men are strong, all the women are good looking and all the children are above average, it is one of the most sparsely settled parts of the country.

Like all areas in rural America, this region faces daunting challenges in the delivery of adequate health care: diminishing population, vulnerable high-use citizens and the difficulty of retaining physicians or keeping community hospitals in operation.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Hospitals and Health Networks.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org