CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Easing the Crossing

More permits, crossing points and clearer rules are needed

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Despite all their disagreements, the parties to the Georgia conflict appear to agree on one thing: avoiding renewed armed conflict in the region. Indeed, renewed violence would have terrible consequences, and establishing effective conflict-prevention mechanisms should be a top priority. But having visited both conflict lines in recent weeks, we have concluded that any effective prevention regime must address the human-security needs of what could be called trans-boundary populations.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in IISS.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org