CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Why Conservatives Should Love AmeriCorps, Not Kill It

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

House Appropriations Chairman Hal Rogers’ (R-KY) proposal to eliminate funding for AmeriCorps is no surprise, but wrongheaded—even for conservatives.

Despite the bipartisan majorities that created AmeriCorps in 1993, saved it a decade later when it was last at serious risk, and enacted the Edward M. Kennedy Serve America Act less than two years ago, radical conservatives still can’t get past the program’s association with Bill Clinton. Or the fact that AmeriCorps members receive poverty-level living allowances and modest college scholarships in exchange for their year of service. (We get it—they are not volunteers; they are people willing to work for a year in some of the most dire circumstances for practically nothing.)

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Huffington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org