CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Rebuilding the Middle Class

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Data released Friday by the Bureau of Labor Statistics provide some immediate insight into President Obama’s argument in his State of the Union speech that the key to creating jobs and a strong middle class is to boost U.S. competitiveness and innovation.

Central to that vision is increasing investment in the U.S. and boosting exports, both of which should spur job creation, particularly in manufacturing. The new data show the wisdom of this approach, though indications are that we have a long ways to go until the unemployment rate returns to normal.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in MarketWatch.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org