CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Expanding the Availability of Free Legal Assistance in Family Law Matters: The Need to Serve Fathers and Achieve Improved Family Outcomes

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Family law cases represent the greatest area of unmet legal need. According to the Legal Services Corporation, providers are unable to serve 391,038 people a year who need this type of assistance, representing a full 41 percent of denied cases. Issues related to child custody, visitation and child support may be particularly important to the families of the 44 percent of low-income children (below 200 percent of poverty) who live with only one of their parents. Non-custodial parents, typically fathers, could face challenges that limit time spent with their children and produce other negative consequences. Some fathers are involved in domestic violence cases or have children in the child welfare system.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Cornerstone.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org