CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Amid Broader Political Crisis, Afghan Elections Will Resolve Little

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

On September 18, the Afghan people will hold elections for the lower house of parliament, or the Wolesi Jirga. 2,584 candidates are running for 249 seats, 10 of which are reserved for the nomadic Kuchi tribal members and 68 for women. The lower house, while still weak, has served as one of the only checks on presidential power in Afghanistan. Over the past year, it has asserted itself through rejecting President Hamid Karzai’s cabinet appointments and vetoing the infamous electoral law decreed by Karzai in February 2010 that ultimately passed.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in PBS.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org