CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

U.S. Stem Cell Ruling Invites Asian Competition

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The ink had barely dried on last week’s U.S. court decision barring the National Institutes of Health from funding embryonic stem cell grants when I received this message from the second annual Stem Cells Asia Regenerative Medicine Congress, which meets in Seoul on October 26 through 28:

"Dear Jonathan Moreno,

—‰’Halt to U.S. Stem Cell Funding May Thwart Search for New Cures’ — Bloomberg News

"This is one of the most pertinent reasons why stakeholders of the stem cells arena are now moving to Asia to leverage on Asia’s laissez-faire regulations and capitalize on Asia’s growth potential in stem cell research and application."

And I was in fact quoted in that Bloomberg News story as follows:

"This is a catastrophe. "…It’s now possible that the United States is now taken out of embryonic stem cell research."

Read more here.

This article was originally published in San Jose Mercury.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org