CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Interactive Map: Are States Using Flexibility Waivers to Expand Learning Time in Schools?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Are states using Elementary and Secondary Education Act, or ESEA, flexibility waivers to expand learning time in schools? The Center for American Progress sought to answer this question by examining whether states applying for ESEA flexibility waivers strategically thought about how expanded learning time can support school turnaround efforts in priority and focus schools. Specifically, our analysis reviewed each state plan to assess to what extent the state outlined its intent to either use more time as part of its strategy to turn around its lowest-performing schools or redesign the school day to reach student achievement goals. States that provided the most detailed information were considered “standouts.”

To learn more about how increased learning time is integrated into ESEA flexibility plans, select a state on the map below. To read our analysis, see our report “Elementary and Secondary Education Act Flexibility Waivers: Are States Using Flexibility to Expand Learning Time in Schools?

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org