CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Interactive Map: The United States Is Getting Beat on Preschool

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

See also: The United States Is Far Behind Other Countries on Pre-K; Infographic: We’re Getting Beat on Preschool

High-quality early childhood education is essential to student success, yet compared to other countries around the world, the United States lags far behind on preschool. The United States enrolls less than 70 percent of 4-year-olds in preschool, trailing more than two dozen countries in the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, or OECD. We also lag behind in 3-year-old preschool participation, the typical age children begin early childhood programs, our teacher-to-child ratios, and our investment in early childhood. If we are to stay competitive in the global economy, we need to ensure all our children are ready for school.

The president has proposed a plan to significantly expand access to preschool. Now is the time to act.


Juliana Herman is a Policy Analyst with the Education Policy team at the Center for American Progress. Sasha Post is Special Advisor to CAP President and CEO Neera Tanden. Scott O’Halloran was an intern with the Education team at the Center.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org