CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Interactive Map: Rural Students in Poverty

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
 

Source: Jerry Johnson & Marty Strange, “Why Rural Matters: 2009” (Arlington: The Rural School & Community Trust, 2009).

Rural districts are responsible for the education of millions of children, and they wrestle with the same problems many urban districts face. While rural schools may offer distinct advantages such as smaller size and opportunities for place-based learning, they also struggle to attract and retain effective teachers and pay for transportation costs for students. The graphic above provides a snapshot of the rural student population.

For more information, see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org