CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Middle Class Series: The Origins of Prosperity

Authors of 'Why Nations Fail' Speak at CAP

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Economist Daron Acemoglu and co-author James Robinson spoke at the Center for American Progress on March 23 about their new book, Why Nations Fail: The Origins of Power, Prosperity, and Poverty. Acemoglu and Robinson conclude that manmade political and economic institutions that foster a strong middle class create powerful forces for economic growth and national success. They encourage investment because of well-enforced property rights. They harness the power of markets through better allocation of resources. They promote the entry of more efficient firms, and they make it easier for new businesses to get financing. These factors in turn generate broad-based civic participation in economic and social life.

Find out more about this event here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a special series: Middle Class Series

For more from this series, click here