CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Conservatives, Stop Trashing Hard Working Americans

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

It’s getting a little tiresome constantly hearing the voices of conservative America insulting hard working Americans. Cut it out – the rich are willing to work just as hard as anyone.

To listen to Rush Limbaugh, Mitt Romney, Newt Gingrich and their fellow travelers, we should believe that high earning Americans will go on strike if tax rates merely revert to 2000 levels.

Do they really think that Type A deal doers will do fewer deals because they would have to kick back a little more to the public treasury? Will bond trader s striving for $10 million bonuses toss it all aside because they might pay an extra few hundred thousand in taxes? Are small business owners who can earn $400,000 going to cut back their business operations to earn only $250,000, just to avoid paying $6000 in taxes?

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org