CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Court on Physician Aid-in-Dying

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

As we honor the 33rd anniversary of the landmark Supreme Court decision Roe v. Wade, we take time to consider the current climate in which the struggle for reproductive determination continues and visions for moving forward. At a time when the ideological composition of the Supreme Court is shifting, when many important cases continue to come before the Court, and when critical constitutional questions remain unanswered, these columns mark Roe as the beginning, rather than the end, of the battle for women’s health and rights.

by Jessica Arons and Shira Saperstein
There are two key ways to reduce abortion – by making it less necessary or by making it less available. In our view, only the former approach is humane, effective, and just. More…
by Rachel Roth
If the legacy of Roe is that women have the freedom to make decisions about pregnancy and motherhood, then what does this anniversary mean to women who are literally not free? More…
by Leila Hessini
While the U.S. exports an archaic, unscientific and undemocratic policy, the world is moving in a much different direction. More…
by Eveline Shen
A constitutional right to abortion is not enough to protect the reproductive health of women, or even abortion access for all women. More…
NSA Warrantless Surveillance by Crystal Plati
Young leaders are reclaiming what it means to be pro-choice. By working to develop leadership skills in young people, we can win back lost rights and strengthen those under threat. More…
by Barbara Coombs Lee
As we honor Roe v. Wade’s legacy of the right to government non-interference with private decisions, it is appropriate that we celebrate this latest victory for personal freedom. More…

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org