CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Successful Bid, then Second Thoughts

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

"John, it was destiny." Those were the words spoken to me by a young staffer to the Beijing Olympic bid as we walked in Moscow’s Gorky Park the day after the membership of the International Olympic Committee had voted to give the 2008 Summer Olympics to China. We had worked together as part of the public relations team supporting the bid. A recent college graduate, I had innocently remarked how surprised I was the bid had succeeded. My walking partner then instructed me in the power of Chinese nationalism and patience. It was part of the education in international politics and the Chinese worldview I received working for the Beijing bid.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org