CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Chart: Budget Resolution Claiming to Be Simpson-Bowles Comes Up Very Short

Calling It Simpson-Bowles Doesn’t Make It Simpson-Bowles

SOURCE: AP/Lawrence Jackson

The budget resolution offered by Reps. Jim Cooper (D-TN), above, and Steven LaTourette (R-OH) this week is not equivalent to the Bowles-Simpson budget plan despite their claims.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The budget resolution offered by Reps. Jim Cooper (D-TN) and Steven LaTourette (R-OH) this week is not equivalent to the “Bowles-Simpson” plan, despite their claims that it is just that. Reps. Cooper and LaTourette proposed this resolution as an alternative to the budget plan put forth by Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI), and they say it is based on the recommendations of Alan Simpson and Erskine Bowles, the co-chairs of the president’s fiscal commission.

But in fact, the Cooper-LaTourette proposal differs markedly from the actual plan offered by Simpson and Bowles in a variety of ways. Most strikingly, the Cooper-LaTourette proposal comes up dramatically short on revenue. Whereas Simpson-Bowles called for revenues to surpass 20 percent of gross domestic product—the broadest measure of economic activity—by the end of the decade, on their way to 21 percent by 2025, Cooper-LaTourette’s plan would set revenues well below that level. Overall, Cooper-LaTourette’s revenue levels are nearly $1 trillion below those of Simpson-Bowles.

Michael Linden is the Director for Tax and Budget Policy at the Center for American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org