CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

How to Love Trillion-Dollar Deficits

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

We’re looking at a mind-boggling, trillion-dollar budget deficit next year and I say keep the red ink rolling.

My wife, who’s heard me rail against deficits since I served as a budget hawk back in Bill Clinton’s White House, thinks I’ve lost my mind – or at least my principles. I used to be a deficit fetishist, an oddball who read one of Pete Peterson’s budget doomsday books on his honeymoon, and who has bored countless friends with filibusters on our fiscal follies. But I’ve changed.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org