CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot

THE LATEST

Public’s Dos and Don’ts on Handling the Fiscal Showdown

The public has clear opinions on its priorities for the fiscal showdown and sequestration.

Monday, December 17, 2012

Public Supports Increased Spending in Key Areas

Conservatives may be allergic to spending on the unemployed and our social needs but the public clearly is not.

Monday, December 10, 2012

2 Things the Public Wants Policymakers to Remember

Americans think it’s time to raise taxes on the rich, and they don’t want to raise the Medicare eligibility age.

Monday, December 3, 2012

Public Turns Against Repeal of Obamacare

Americans want the Affordable Care Act to continue as law.

Monday, November 19, 2012

What Do the Voters Want?

A recent post-election poll shows what American voters believe about our nation’s policy priorities and our road forward.

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Public Rejects ‘You’re on Your Own’ Economics

Most Americans think government help for the poor is a good thing.

Monday, November 5, 2012

Public Supports Raising Taxes on the Rich, Opposes Repealing Obamacare

Most Americans don’t support conservatives’ sacred causes of not raising taxes on the rich and doing away with the Affordable Care Act.

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Public Wants to Give Legalization a Chance

Conservatives may be fixated on deporting unauthorized immigrants but the public clearly isn’t.

Monday, October 15, 2012

The Public Blames Bush and Favoring the Wealthy for Our Economic Problems

Americans don’t think that President Obama and overregulation of the free market are to blame for our economic troubles.

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Just Say No to Voucherizing Medicare

The idea of transforming Medicare into a voucher program started out unpopular, and is just becoming less so.

Monday, October 1, 2012

Are We Past the Tipping Point on Support for Marriage Equality?

Majority support for marriage equality is now the norm among the American public.

Monday, September 24, 2012

Stimulus Plan Not So Bad After All

Americans think the economic stimulus program was the right thing to do.

Monday, September 17, 2012

2 Different Approaches to Deficit Reduction

In order to reduce the deficit, conservatives want to slash Social Security and Medicare benefits and keep tax cuts for the rich. The public doesn’t like that plan.

Monday, September 10, 2012

Public Supports Infrastructure Spending to Create Jobs

The public thinks spending on roads, bridges, and technology development will create jobs instead of cutting taxes, writes Ruy Teixeira.

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Public Says Keep Medicare the Way It Is!

Recent polls show the public doesn’t want to turn Medicare into a fixed-amount voucher, writes Ruy Teixeira.

Monday, August 27, 2012

More