CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day

Assessing the Value of Liberal Arts

Competency-based education is an innovative way to measure the value of a liberal arts degree.

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

How to Unleash Democracy in the Black Belt

A new CAP report looks at how lessons learned from Freedom Summer can advance democracy in the Black Belt.

Monday, June 16, 2014

The Influence of Second-Generation Immigrants Is Increasing

Immigration reform is set to become an even more pressing policy issue for the Latino electorate.

Friday, June 13, 2014

Continued U.S. Support Is Necessary in Jordan

A new CAP report discusses how the United States should support Jordan’s political and economic reform in the wake of the Arab uprisings and the Syrian civil war.

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Why Are Many Women of Color Becoming Entrepreneurs?

Women of color entrepreneurs stand to play an even bigger role in the U.S. economy as the nation becomes more diverse.

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

The Increased Risk of Hate Violence for LGBT Undocumented Immigrants

We need to reform our immigration laws to protect LGBT immigrants from hate violence.

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Increasing Opportunities for Achievement in New York Schools

A new CAP issue brief looks at New York’s significant state-level investment in expanded learning time for districts and schools.

Monday, June 9, 2014

How State Takeover Districts Are Affecting Teachers’ Professional Development

A new CAP issue brief looks at lessons learned from the innovation of state takeover districts in the area of teacher professional development.

Thursday, June 5, 2014

Decentralized Management Is Helping Schools

A new CAP report discusses the rise of school networks in New York City, Baltimore, Denver, and Chicago.

Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Further Expanding Access to Rooftop Solar

A new CAP issue brief looks at the adoption of rooftop solar in emerging residential markets.

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Understanding the EPA’s Climate Protection Proposal

The public deserves to know the relevant facts in the debate over the Environmental Protection Agency’s forthcoming carbon pollution rule.

Monday, June 2, 2014

Austerity Since the Great Recession

Research highlights why austerity has been such a harmful economic policy in the United States and Europe.

Friday, May 30, 2014

How to Reform the Tax Code to Promote College Affordability

Progressive reform of our tax code will support both college access and affordability, as well as help student-loan borrowers.

Thursday, May 29, 2014

How We Should Expand Credit Card Reform

A new CAP issue brief discusses both the successes of the Credit CARD Act and what still needs to be done.

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Egypt Is Facing an Uncertain Summer

While it is clear who will win Egypt’s upcoming presidential election, it is not clear what he will do and whether the country will stabilize.

Friday, May 23, 2014