CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day

Gridless Electricity

In the fight against energy poverty around the world, distributed electric generation is a vital tool.

Thursday, July 17, 2014

The ‘Too Big to Fail’ Problem

We need to understand the varied concerns underlying too big to fail and implement tailored solutions.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

The Impending BRICS Summit

The meeting highlights the potentially positive role the BRICS countries could play in revitalizing the global system of partnerships and alliances to tackle the challenges of the 21st century.

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Why Apprenticeships are Good for Business

American companies can benefit from hiring an apprentice.

Monday, July 14, 2014

Why Administrative Action on Immigration Would Benefit American Workers

How administrative action that protects undocumented immigrants would benefit all American workers.

Friday, July 11, 2014

The Need to Encourage Responsible Credit

Exploring how stronger laws and enforcement can reduce debt traps in short-term lending.

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Why Professional Support for Principals Is Essential

New data show that principals believe they have a major influence on teacher evaluation. However, principals do not receive the professional support they need.

Monday, July 7, 2014

The Role of the Principal and How it’s Changing

The landscape of school leadership and principal professional development is changing rapidly.

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

State Policies that Could Promote Apprenticeship

Apprenticeship is a time-tested worker-training model and could be a possible solution to America’s workforce challenges.

Monday, June 30, 2014

Why Effective Teaching is the New Measure of Equity

While the ruling in Vergara v. California may have sparked strong reactions, we can all agree that great teaching matters.

Friday, June 27, 2014

The Government Is Subsidizing Wealth Inequality

Government subsidies for capital gains and dividends are helping the rich get richer.

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Evaluating the U.S. Counterterrorism Strategy

The United States needs to closely examine its record in helping to build security-force capacity before investing in a new $5 billion fund to support foreign counterterrorism efforts.

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

The Importance of Breadwinning Mothers

A new CAP report highlights why the nation’s labor standards need to be updated.

Monday, June 23, 2014

Getting Ready for the Carbon-Pollution Standards

Cities should play a significant role in the effort to reduce carbon pollution.

Friday, June 20, 2014

Protecting Women from Gun Violence

A new CAP report offers four policy solutions to protect women from gun violence.

Thursday, June 19, 2014