CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Fish on Fridays

Lamenting the Loss of an Ocean Champion

Michael Conathan explains how Sen. Olympia Snowe’s retirement will affect our oceans and fisheries.

Friday, March 2, 2012

The Uncertain Science of Fisheries

Michael Conathan explains the fluctuations inherent in fisheries science and why stability is fundamental to sustainability.

Friday, February 10, 2012

The Top 5 Fish Stories of 2011

Michael Conathan enumerates the top developments of the year for fisheries.

Friday, December 16, 2011

Defining a Fishery Disaster

Michael Conathan explains why New England’s groundfishery may be on the brink of disaster, but not for the reasons called out by some politicians.

Friday, November 18, 2011

10 Tips on Sustainable Sushi

Michael Conathan’s advice on what to consider when you sit down at the sushi bar.

Friday, October 28, 2011

Optimism for New England’s Groundfishery

More emotionally charged rhetoric won’t pull New England’s storied fishing industry back from the brink, writes Michael Conathan. It will take compromise on all sides.

Friday, September 30, 2011

The Newest Redlist Species: Commercial Fishermen

Jobs in commercial fishing are down, but lawmakers’ attacks on fisheries management systems will not solve the problem, says Michael Conathan.

Friday, August 26, 2011

What I Did on My Summer Vacation

Michael Conathan explains why, despite what we see on the surface, the oceans are not OK.

Friday, August 12, 2011

The (Nonsensical) Politics of Fisheries Funding

Michael Conathan wonders what legislators are thinking by slashing budgets to maintain the fisheries that support millions of jobs and put food on our tables.

Friday, July 15, 2011

Twelve Million Lines in the Water

Michael Conathan debunks the perception that recreational fishing doesn’t harm fish stocks and offers ways to reduce your impact while enjoying the sport.

Friday, July 1, 2011

Dealing with the Aquaculture Dilemma

Michael Conathan argues that farmed fish are a fact of life and we should continue efforts that attempt to make the practice safer.

Friday, June 17, 2011

The International Politics of Bluefin Tuna

NOAA’s decision not to list bluefin tuna as endangered may not be popular, says Michael Conathan. But it was the right move.

Friday, June 3, 2011

Sustainable Supermarket Sweep

Michael Conathan braves the aisles to find out which of our nation’s grocery stores are paying attention to where their fish come from.

Friday, May 20, 2011

Maximizing the Value of America’s Fisheries

Many U.S. fisheries have gone from overfishing to underfishing in just a few years, writes Michael Conathan. We need to strike the right balance with regulations.

Friday, April 8, 2011

The End of Overfishing in America

Michael Conathan reports some good news for our nation’s fisheries and fishermen.

Friday, March 25, 2011