CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Economic Snapshot

September 2010

Policy needs to intervene to create more jobs quickly so that businesses see more customers and American families can ultimately shake the economic burdens left over from the economic crisis, writes Christian E. Weller.

Thursday, September 23, 2010

August 2010

The private sector is on the road to recovery, but high household debt, large trade deficits, and weak state and local finances endanger this growth, writes Christian E. Weller.

Friday, August 20, 2010

March 2010

Companies are sitting on cash, but they need to spend it on investments and people, writes Christian E. Weller.

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

January 2010

We need to find a better balance between profits and jobs to ensure a strong recovery, writes Christian E. Weller.

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

December 2009

The economy is in recovery, but now we must work on ensuring strong job gains and durable economic growth, writes Christian E. Weller.

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

November 2009

Policy attention should focus on job creation to ensure that the recent improvements are not short lived, writes Christian E. Weller.

Friday, November 20, 2009

October 2009

Christian E. Weller argues that policymakers need to focus on those economically most vulnerable as the labor market tries to recover.

Tuesday, October 6, 2009

September 2009

Christian E. Weller argues that continued public support for investment in health care, energy, education, and innovation are necessary to bring millions of lost jobs back.

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

August 2009

Christian E. Weller argues that continued public support for investment in health care, energy, education, and innovation are necessary to bring back millions of lost jobs.

Friday, August 14, 2009

July 2009

We are learning the hard way this month that Wall Street, the economy, and the labor market are three separate things, writes Christian E. Weller.

Thursday, July 9, 2009

June 2009

There are no “glimmers of hope” yet for families, writes Christian E. Weller. The economy will have to grow for an extended period before families regain economic security.

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

May 2009

It will take an extended turnaround period before families feel economically secure again and the United States begins to see positive economic growth, writes Christian E. Weller.

Monday, May 18, 2009

April 2009

The government has its work cut out for it when it comes to fixing the economy, writes Christian Weller.

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

March 2009

It’s hard to find any good news in economic news these days. The only thing that can turn the economy around now, writes Christian Weller, is the federal government.

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

February 2009

The U.S. economy is experiencing its worst recession in decades, writes Christian E. Weller, and the only sector of the economy that can turn it around is the federal government.

Tuesday, February 24, 2009