CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Economic Snapshot

July 2013

article icon Issue Brief

Economic and labor-market gains continue this month, but policymakers should focus on long-term strategies to strengthen the American people and help U.S. businesses prosper.

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

June 2013

article icon Issue Brief

Despite gains in the housing market, economic growth and labor-market growth remain too slow to make a difference for the American middle class.

Friday, June 21, 2013

May 2013

article icon Issue Brief

It’s time to consider additional policy measures to bring down unemployment and economic suffering from their still-too-high levels.

Monday, May 13, 2013

April 2013

article icon Issue Brief

The U.S. economy needs more policy attention in order to reach a self-sustaining recovery.

Monday, April 22, 2013

March 2013

article icon Issue Brief

Though the economy and job market have both maintained steady growth, lawmakers can do more to ensure a positive future for struggling Americans and a prosperous economy for all.

Friday, March 22, 2013

February 2013

article icon Issue Brief

Policymakers can accelerate modest recovery with increased infrastructure investments and boosts to personal income.

Thursday, February 21, 2013

January 2013

article icon Issue Brief

The modest recovery continues, held back by the unresolved debt ceiling and spending cuts that create uncertainty, slowing job creation and economic growth.

Tuesday, January 15, 2013

December 2012

article icon Issue Brief

Our modest economic recovery will need continued attention, and policymakers must quickly resolve the fiscal showdown to end the uncertainty that could derail the recovery.

Monday, December 17, 2012

November 2012

article icon Issue Brief

Policymakers need to continue paying attention to our moderate economic recovery.

Monday, November 26, 2012

October 2012

article icon Issue Brief

Policymakers need to build on past policy experience to strengthen the economic recovery.

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

September 2012

article icon Issue Brief

Policymakers need to support a struggling economy with proactive investments.

Thursday, September 27, 2012

August 2012

article icon Issue Brief

Policymakers should not let politics stand in the way of boosting economic and job growth, writes Christian E. Weller.

Monday, August 20, 2012

July 2012

Slow job growth and lingering wealth losses should be at the top of lawmakers’ minds, writes Christian E. Weller.

Monday, July 16, 2012

June 2012

Policymakers need to create more economic certainty for American families, writes Christian E. Weller.

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

May 2012

Policymakers should feel a sense of urgency about helping America’s middle class, writes Christian Weller.

Tuesday, May 29, 2012